Bay of Plenty / Te Moana-a-Toi

Key Dates

Regional Heat

May 16, 2021


Regional Finals

May 29, 2021 7:00 PM

Totara Street

Video Submission Deadline


What are you waiting for?

Registrations close:
Showquest - March 12
Toi - April 9
OnScreen - July 30

regional results

2021 Results -

Band 1: Big Angry, Otumoetai College

Band 2: Vegan Funk Machine, Mt Maunganui College

Band 3: Tū Te Akitu, Rotorua Boys' High School

Solo/Duo 1: Mabel Affleck, Bethlehem College

Solo/Duo 2: Just Cate, Rotorua Lakes High School

Smokefree Tangata Beats Award: Tū Te Akitu, Rotorua Boys' High School

ZM People’s Choice: Their There, Mt Maunganui College

Best Vocals: Mikaere Albert, Arana Ashby and Marangai Wainohu-Savage of Tū Te Akitu, Rotorua Boys' High School

Musicianship: Maysen Mitchell (drums, vocals) of O.C.D, Papamoa College

ZM Best Song: Big Angry, Otumoetai College

APRA Lyric Writers’ Award: Tuhoe Soldiers, TKKM o Huiarau

Relive the experience

No items found.

Key Information

We’re all about making this process as straightforward and smooth sailing as possible for you. We are just a phone call or email away if you have any questions!

How it works

It says it in the title! Here you’ll find a step by step guide to how region-wide and nation-wide aspects of the programme works

Read More

Event Info

Here you’ll find 2021 dates, the team behind Smokefreerockquest, history (including past winners and where they're from!), and FAQs

Read More


Check out the awards up for grabs at our regional and national Smokefreerockquest events. Along with the placings for the top bands and solo/duos, we also have songwriting and musicianships awards.

Read More